P.O. Box 7326
Buffalo Grove, IL, 60089

Tel: 847-456-2293


News and Events


Illinois Traffic Safety Challenge How To Seminar Dates Set! 

The 2020 Illinois Traffic Safety Challenge How To Seminar dates have been set.

Rockford Area - 1/23/20 Rockford Police Department from 9:00am-12:00pm

557 South New Town Dr.- Rockford, IL

North Suburbs - 1/29/20 Buffalo Grove Police Department from 9:00am-12:00pm

46 Raupp Boulevard - Buffalo Grove, IL

South Suburbs - 1/30/20 AAA Motor Club Offices from 9:00am-12:00pm

975 Meridian Lake Drive - Aurora, IL


Springfield- 2/6/20 Illinois State Police Academy from 9:00am-12:00pm

3700 East Lake Shore Drive- Springfield, IL

To register: Contact Co-Director  Paul Rizzo at 224 286-0102 or email at

Please remember to submit your 2019 Looking Beyond the Seat Belt and /or Illinois Highway Safety Leadership Award applications by 5/1/19.  Applications can be found in the column to the left.

Gold Sponsors

2018 Traffic Safety Challenge

Application Example 


The Illinois Traffic Safety Challenge (ITSC) is a friendly competition between similar size and type of law enforcement agencies. It is a program coordinated by the Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police (ILACP) Traffic Committee and supported by a NHTSA grant administered through the Illinois Department of Transportation, Bureau of Safety Programs and Engineering (BSPE), as well as much-appreciated funding from private entities.


The Challenge is much more than a peer competition. It is a template for law enforcement agencies to identify traffic issues, plan strategies, reduce social harm and improve the quality of life in their communities. The Challenge helps agencies demonstrate successes to their government officials, community leaders and citizens. The Illinois Traffic Safety Challenge provides law enforcement agencies with an opportunity to contribute to the Illinois' Strategic Highway Safety Plan and have a significant impact on the reduction of crashes, deaths and associated injuries across the state.

ITSC 2017/18 Sponsors